Harryhammer's Blog

A go-to destination for a variety of posts and waterfront photos

A Tribute to “Pooch”

June 23, 2010 Lynne 3 night slings lumber 148“Pooch” Polkinghorn was a good guy.

I talk to a lot of people and as a result I got to know Pooch.

It really is a small world because in talking to him I found out that my next door neighbor, for a big part of my life growing up, was Pooch’s uncle Jimmy.

Pooch’s uncle Jimmy was also a longshoreman at Local 500.

My folks lived in the same house for about 50 years and for about 35 of those years Dolly and Jimmy were our neighbors.

Dolly became one my Mom’s best friends.

She used to make me grilled cheese sandwiches when I was a little kid.

I know many of Pooch’s relatives because whenever they came over to visit Dolly and Jimmy they invited me over for dinner too.

Talking more to Pooch I found out about a few other links between his world and mine.

It turns out that he used to play sports and once played for a team called the “Bum Biters.”

I know a lot of good people connected to that group.

It really is a small world.

Rest in peace.June 23, 2010 Lynne 3 night slings lumber 133

4 Responses to “A Tribute to “Pooch””

  1. bobglover

    Hi pooch.family,friends, I lost touch with a lot of the guys at the hall,I go to some of the pensioners meetings and the fall pensioners banquet in October. miss you buddy. I use to work jobs with you years ago. god bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

